Secondary Education

Huskies Take Gold in Unified Bocce State Games!

Last Updated on Feb 28, 2014 at 8:14am | Secondary Education


          The Northern Husky Unified Bocce team competed in the State Championships at Hagerstown Community College on Tuesday, February 25th and emerged from the Hawks Nest with the gold medal in hand. The Garrett County team advanced to the State games by taking a gold medal at the district playoffs held at Mt. Ridge earlier in the month. The State games had been cancelled on two previous dates due to inclement weather.
          Competing in the Division 6 bracket, the Huskies first faced North Point of Charles county and came away with a 5-2 win over the Eagles. Round two saw the Garrett team squaring off with the division’s top seed in the Franklin high School Indians of Baltimore City and knocked them into the loser’s bracket with a well played 9-3 victory.
          Advancing to the third round, the senior laden Huskies came up against a strong team from Bethesda-Chevy Chase of Montgomery county and survived a close 4-3 win over the Barons.
          After waiting for the bracket games to play out, Northern saw their toughest opponent emerge from the bronze medal game with an extra frame win against Boonsboro. The Barons and Huskies would play for the Gold Medal. The Huskies were in a unique position as BCC would need two straight victories for them to win gold. The Garrett team was prepared and after a close few frames the Huskies put together a 3 point frame to gain the needed breathing room and then stuck the final frame to seal the victory. The Northern Garrett Huskies were Gold medal State Champions.
          The Husky coaches agreed that this team had a goal set at the beginning of the season and several key players remained focused and accomplished their intended goal. The team players for the 2014 Huskies are Meghan Bequette, Annette Needham, Ashton Chapman, Brady Benton, Ryan VanNosdeln, Joseph Burdock, and Tiffany Warnick. The alternate was Courtney Lowery. Other team members are McKenna Fazenbaker, Abby Burdock, Bethany Hershberger, David Vitez and Brittany Griffin.
Want more news?
See All Garrett County Public Schools News