The Garrett County Board of Education voted on January 12, 2021, to accept the Superintendent’s recommendation to remain in the “red model” in which students are learning virtually. Students will begin transitioning back to in-person learning when the Garrett County metrics are at 5% or less positivity rate and 15 or less per 100,000 for 14 consecutive days.

Anyone with a question or concern may contact, and you will receive a response.

There have been 1,728 confirmed cases of Coronavirus in Garrett County. Current metrics from the Garrett County Health Department are: 7-Day Positivity Percentage: 14.9%; 7-Day Case Rate Per 100,000: 46.3.

Please continue to check our website and the GCPS Coronavirus Updates page for more information.

Route 40

Elementary School

Cover Art Slider

Slider image 1 of 6. Front of School
Slider image 2 of 6. Team Work
Slider image 3 of 6. 5th grade
Slider image 4 of 6. Working in the Garden
Working in the Garden
Slider image 5 of 6. Pre-K Blue Day
Pre-K Blue Day
Slider image 6 of 6. Hickory visit
Third Grade at Hickory


Principal: Mrs. Candy Maust
301-334-8900 ext 5248
Secretary: Mrs. Ginger Blocher
301-334-8900 ext 6201
School Based Staff:
Ms. Shannon Miller - Pre-Kindergarten Teacher
Mrs. Laura Bolden - Pre-Kindergarten Assistant
Ms. Ashley Forrest - Kindergarten Teacher
Mrs. Twila Maust - Kindergarten Assistant
Mrs. Debra Nicklin - First Grade Teacher
Mrs. Jencene Tice - Second Grade Teacher
Mrs. Penny Lapp - Third Grade Teacher
Ms. Mikaila Tice - Fourth Grade Teacher
Mrs. Donna Deal - Fifth Grade Teacher
Mrs. Meg Knauer- Instructional Assistant
Mr. Mitchell Hall - Special Education Teacher
Mrs. Amy Workman, RN - School Nurse 301-334-8900 ext 6203
Mr. Scott Swauger - Head Custodian
Mrs. Joyce Kisner - Custodian
Mrs. LuAnn Klink - PIC
Mr. Robert Bittinger - Music/Band/Chorus (Wed., Fri.)
Mr. Jason Brenneman - Physical Education (Tues., Thurs.)
Ms. Kelly Lasher - Art (Mon., Tues.)
Ms. Jessica Yoder - Media Assistant (Wed., Fri.)
Mrs. Connie Glotfelty - Counselor
Mrs. Jamie Kamp - Behavior Coach
Mrs. Amy Yoder-Yutzy - Speech and Language Therapist
Mrs. Lyndsey Gregory - Pupil Personnel Worker
Ms. Melissa Davis - IEP Coordinator
Ms. Susan Thatcher -School Psychologist
Ms. Carrie Hook - Family Support Worker