September 8, 2020 is the first day of school for the GCPS students.

The GCPS central office will be closed to the public until further notice. Anyone with a question or concern may contact public.info@garrettcountyschools.org, and you will receive a response.

There have been 70 confirmed cases of Coronavirus in Garrett County.

Please continue to check our website and the GCPS Coronavirus Updates page for more information.

Route 40

Elementary School

Cover Art Slider

Slider image 1 of 8.
Slider image 2 of 8.
Slider image 3 of 8.
Working with Bees
Slider image 4 of 8.
Slider image 5 of 8.
Working in the Garden
Slider image 6 of 8.
Pre-K Blue Day
Slider image 7 of 8.
Third Grade at Hickory
Slider image 8 of 8.

Route 40 Home

Our school motto is “Route 40 students work together to solve problems and make a difference.” Our PBIS mantra is Respectful, Responsible, and Safe. We strongly believe there is no limit to what can be achieved when we work towards this ideal.
 
 
 
 
 
Census Video:
https://www.facebook.com/RuthEnlowLibrary/videos/553771545284239/
 
 
 
 
 
 
When you drive by Route 40 you can see a message from our staff!
 
 

From
Our
Staff!
 
COVID April 3, 2020 Packet Pick Up and Drop Off
All parents are permitted to travel to schools to pick up and drop off educational materials. Teachers have contacted parents and determined times for the exchange of the materials. Any parent dropping off packets must make sure names are on the child's papers and place them in the grade level boxes outside the main front doors. Please place the lid back on the box to ensure that papers do not blow away. Packets with the child's name will be on the table that is outside the main doors at the time given to the child's teacher as the pick up time. NO ONE will be permitted to enter the building for any reason.
 
Office Hours and Phone Numbers
Please call the following number 301-334-8900 and then enter the extension number beside the person's name below. If a number is not provided below, email the teacher to get that information.
 
 
First Name, Last Name Office Hours Extension Email
 
 
Candy Maust8:00 - 4:00 5248
candy.Maust@garrettcountyschools.org
 
Donna Deal10:00 - 12:00 5249
donna.Deal@garrettcountyschools.org
 
Shannon Miller9:00 - 11:00 5255
shannon.Miller@garrettcountyschools.org
 
Jencene Tice8:00 - 10:00 5257
jencene.Tice@garrettcountyschools.org
 
Penny Lapp8:00 -10:00 5265
penny.Lapp@garrettcountyschools.org
 
Kyler Clise 8:00 - 10:00 5289
kyler.Clise@garrettcountyschools.org
 
Mitchell Hall1:00 -3:00 5293
mitchell.Hall@garrettcountyschools.org
 
Laura Bolden9:00 - 11:00 5317
laura.Bolden@garrettcountyschools.org
 
Ashley Forrest11:00 - 12:00, 4:30 - 5:30 5323
ashley.Forrest@garrettcountyschools.org
 
Deb Nicklin 9:00 - 11:00 5445
debra.nicklin@garrettcountyschools.org
 
Twila Maust 10:00 - 12:00 5444
twila.maust@garrettcountyschools.org
 
Connie Glotfelty 10:00 - 12:00
connie.glotfelty@garrettcountyschools.org