Team 1629 Competes at the Chesapeake Regional, Receives Top Honors.

Last Updated on Apr 8, 2015 at 12:46pm

FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC) Team 1629 (GaCo) competed last weekend, April 2-4, among 58 teams, including teams from Israel, Canada, and the United Arab Emirates. The team finished qualification matches as the 7th ranked team and were eliminated in quarterfinal playoffs.

Among the highlights of the regional tournament was a visit by Dr. Lillian Lowery, Maryland State Department of Education Superintendent, and Cindy Hasselbring, Special Assistant to the Superintendent in the area of STEM. Dr. Lowery and Ms. Hasselbring attended as a result of a special invitation extended by Team 1629.

At the awards ceremony, Team 1629 received the Regional "Chairman's Award." FIRST describes the award as: "The most prestigious award at FIRST, it honors the team that best represents a model for other teams to emulate and best embodies the purpose and goals of FIRST." The team will compete for the same award at the Championship level in St. Louis, Missouri on April 22-25, 2015.

In addition to the team receiving the Chairman’s Award, Northern Garrett Junior, Alexandra Miller, was selected as one of two regional "Dean's List" finalists, which "Celebrates outstanding student leaders whose passion for and effectiveness in attaining FIRST ideals is exemplary." Each team nominates up to two students to compete for one of two spots among the 54 FRC Regionals. She will compete among the other regional finalists in St Louis to be one of ten Championship "Dean's List" winners. The award is named after Dean Kamen, inventor and the founder of FIRST.

GaCo also received the tournament’s “Entrepreneurship Award” sponsored by Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers which celebrates the entrepreneurial spirit by recognizing a team that has developed the framework for a comprehensive business plan to scope, manage, and achieve team objectives.

For more information about FIRST Robotics and Team 1629 visit
FIRST = For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology •
FIRST Robotics Competition Team 1629 GaCo
Left to Right: Matthew Knauff, Bethany Phillips, Patrick Lee, Abby Burdock, Bill Duncan (MD FIRST), Dr. Lillian Lowery (State Superintendent of Schools), Chuck Trautwein (Advisor/Mentor), Alexandra Miller, Cindy Hasselbring (Assistant to Dr. Lowery), Lorie Burdock (Team Mentor and Science Teacher, Northern Middle School) and Anne Shade (FRC Regional Director).
Want more news?
See All Garrett County Public Schools News