Board of Education

Board of Education
40 South Second Street
Oakland, MD 21550
Phone 301.334.8931
Fax 301.334.7621

Minutes August 5, 2002



Oakland, Maryland 21550

Monday, August 5, 2002


Part I - Call to Order

Mrs. Camilla Rawe, President of the Garrett County Board of Education, called the special meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Members in attendance included Mrs. Charlotte Sebold, Vice President; Mrs. Madeleine Collins, Mr. Rodney L. Durst and Mr. James M. Raley, associate members; and Dr. Wendell Teets, Superintendent of Schools. County Commissioner Ernest Gregg was also in attendance.

Part II - Acceptance of Agenda

Upon a motion by Mr. Raley, seconded by Mrs. Sebold, the Board voted unanimously to accept the agenda as drafted.

Part III - Announcements

There were no announcements.

Part IV - Executive Session

Upon a motion by Mrs. Collins, seconded by Mrs. Sebold, the Board of Education unanimously agreed to move to executive session at 6:32 p.m. in accordance with Public School Law 4-106 and Section 10-508 of the State Government Code to discuss personnel matters affecting one or more individuals and to conduct an appeal hearing. Dr. Teets; Dr. Brenda McCartney, Assistant Superintendent; and Mr. Ervin Fink, Director of Finance and Human Resources were in attendance during all or part of the executive session. Personnel topics included appointments, a retirement, resignations, an emergency coach, and the transfer of a bus contract name. Additionally, appropriate individuals were present during the time the Board conducted an appeal hearing.

Part VI - Reconvene in Public Session

The Board reconvened at 8:12 p.m.

Part VII - Personnel Action

Dr. Teets recommended the following items for approval:


  • Dana McCauley, Elementary Principal, CR, eff. 8/7/02, eff. 8/07/02

  • Carrie Newcomb, Sp. Ed./Title I Resource Teacher, CR, eff. 8/21/02

  • Connie Kamp, Guidance Counselor, SH, eff. 8/14/02

  • Cynthia Cangley, Math Resource Teacher, YG, eff. 8/21/02

  • Dawn Moon, Math Resource Teacher, DR, eff. 8/21/02

  • Lori Tichnell, Data Processing Secretary III, Central Office, eff. 8//20/02

  • Dawn Eichorn, Secretary V, SX, eff. 8/20/02

  • Crystal Williams, .5 Secretary VI, NX, eff. 8/14/02

  • Jessica Stemple, Secretary VI, Secretary VI, NH, eff. 8/19/02

  • Billie Jean Krupa, Instructional Assistant, NH, eff. 8/12/02

  • William Hady, Jr., Part-Time Custodian (4 hrs/day @ 210 days), AC, eff. 8/12/02


  • Donald Stemple, Physical Education Teacher, SH, eff. 7/1/02


  • John Lofink, Principal, CR, eff. 8/06/02

  • Stephanie Howell, Guidance Counselor, SH, eff. 7/24/02

  • Carol Frazee, Teacher, GV, eff. 8/01/02

  • Cindy Graham, Teacher, DR, eff. 7/15/02

  • Karen Nussdorfer, Teacher, SX, eff. 8/05/02

  • Erin DiBacco, Data Processing Secretary III, Central Office, eff. 7/21/02

Emergency Coach:

  • Karl Schwalm, Assistant Boys Soccer Coach, SH


  • Transfer of Bus Contract Name from Alice M. Bittner to Alice M. Bittner, Inc.

Upon a motion by Mr. Raley, seconded by Mrs. Sebold, the Board unanimously approved the superintendent= s recommendation.

Part VIII - Administration

Dr. Teets recommended the approval of the one bid proposal submitted for the vehicle fleet insurance. Upon a motion by Mr. Raley, seconded by Mrs. Sebold, the Board unanimously awarded the bid to Yoder-Hershberger Insurance in the amount of $53,265.

Mr. Fink noted that the workmen= s compensation insurance will continue with the Injured Workers= Fund, currently used by the Board.

Part IX - Adjournment

There being no further business, the Board, by consensus, adjourned the meeting at 8:20 p.m.

________________________________________ _______________________________________
Camilla Rawe Wendell D. Teets
President Secretary/Treasurer
Approved:   August 13, 2002