Board of Education

Board of Education
40 South Second Street
Oakland, MD 21550
Phone 301.334.8931
Fax 301.334.7621

Minutes June 4, 1998







Oakland, Maryland 21550


Thursday, June 2, 1998




Part I - Call to Order

Mr. Patrick Riley, president of the Garrett County Board of Education, called the special meeting to order at approximately 6:05 p.m. Members in attendance included Mr. James Raley, vice president, Mr. Rodney Durst and Mrs. Charlotte Sebold, associate members, and Dr. Wendell Teets, Superintendent of Schools. Mr. Riley led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, after which Mr. Durst gave the invocation. At this time, Mr. Dale Carpenter, associate member, entered the meeting.

Part II - Acceptance of Agenda

Upon a motion by Mr. Durst, seconded by Mrs. Sebold, the agenda was unanimously accepted as presented.

Part III - Executive Session

Upon a motion by Mr. Carpenter, seconded by Mrs. Sebold, the Board of Education unanimously agreed to move to executive session in accordance with Public School Law 4-106 and Section 10-508 of the State Government Title for the purpose of conducting collective bargaining negotiations or consider matters related to collective bargaining and discussing personnel matters that affect one or more individuals. During executive session, summer maintenance program worker resignation and assignment were discussed, and matters relating to the negotiated agreement. Dr. Teets, Mr. Albert Coviello, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, and Miss Henrietta Lease, Director of Personnel were present during the executive session.

Part IV - Return to Public Session

Upon return to public session, Dr. Teets made the following personnel recommendations for the summer maintenance program:

Resignation:   Eliza Coviello (effective before start of program)

Assignment:   David Scofield, effective June 8, 1998

Upon a motion by Mr. Durst, seconded by Mr. Raley, the personnel recommendations were approved, 3-0, as Mr. Carpenter was absent during the vote.

Part V - Adjournment

The Board, by consensus, agreed to adjourn at 8:05 p.m.


_______________________________________ _______________________________________
Patrick W. Riley Wendell D. Teets
President Secretary/Treasurer
Approved:      July 14, 1998